Raindrops!

More rain so more lazing around eating Rhubarb Tart and Meringues with crushed pistachios over them! Also did my usual "lundin" - my new name for the meal I seem to have at around 4 o clock! Nice summery Risotto with courgettes and leeks and toasted pine nuts! 
When the rain stopped briefly I went into the garden to release Tilly and Polly and took raindrops on all the flowers as they look so fresh and pretty. Sunny spells forecast tomorrow so may make it to the allotment to see whether the rain has brought my crops on or just the slugs out! 
I listened to the Pistorius trial a lot today as I did yesterday - some parts just mystified me and I remember from when I was on a jury how the prosecution side seemed to dwell unnecessarily on irrelevant details. I'm surprised the same judge is sentencing him after her incorrect interpretation last time, and the sight of him without his prosthetics was a pure sympathy gambit as far as I can see and a total disgrace. He seems to have had  a history of cavalier use of guns and there is no question he killed her and would have killed whoever was behind the door and it was an unwarranted use of force - who needs bullets that explode on impact under one's bed let alone in one's possession? I guess coming from a country where guns are not as prevalent  gives me a different perspective where they are concerned, but we all know the consequence of their use. Sadly the Uk does a good arms  trade - to our shame. 
There is also the issue of what are prisons for - what is the "correct" punishment  for taking someones life? Has he paid enough already as the defence asserts, given he had a privileged life and therefore more to lose, does that mean he should be expected to serve less of a term? So someone with less should serve more?
The more science discovers about how people commit violent crimes and the damage many have to those important parts controlling feelings and actions, leaves me ever more undecided about how responsible people really are for their actions - are they all just damaged people, will prison help them or just punish them? The older I get the less I am sure of it seems. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.