Checkin the Load

My son and I are taking off for Michigan's Upper Peninsula in the morning. Saturday morning through Wednesday afternoon. Some kayaking, some water-falling, and maybe a couple of lighthouses.

Our original plan was to kayak the Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore. 40 miles long with cliffs that are up to 200 feet high. Really pretty. We were going to do 7 miles out, stay at a back-country campsite, then 7 miles back.

I made a call to the rangers office. "I want the honest truth...can we take recreational kayaks out on Lake Superior to see the pictured rocks?

She said..."Sure you can...we rescue them all the time!"

A couple more calls, and we changed our plans. It can be dangerous. We'll take a tour on a good-sized tour boat on Sunday afternoon. Maybe kayak later on a big river.

I am going to be off-line until Wednesday night. Will probably back blip then. We are tenting, so I'm not even going to take my computer. Roughing it like the old days.

Catch up with you next week. Into the land of Gitch-i-gum-ee...across the Straits of Mackinac.

P.S. I just watched the Queen of England parachute into the Olympic Stadium for the opening ceremony. What a remarkable woman!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.