Chrimbo Night Out De-Brief...

I was a bit jiggered this morning so thought I'd relay last nights events today. Kinda like the Ten O'Clock News at about 2:30 the next afternoon.

What can be said about Christmas nights out with the work?

Well I don't reckon it's about the food although on this occasion, the food at Howies on Victoria Street was splendid. Funnily enough the service was none too bad although they were rushing us near the end. Didn't do them any good, but it was their own fault anyway. We booked the table for 1800 but they weren't ready so asked us to come back about 1815 while also reminding us that we needed to be out for 2000 for a table coming in a 1830. Yeah right!!! We could be a bit nasty and prolong it but my experience tells me, tables over 10 covers don't get served in an hour and half let alone leave. I think we were grabbing our coats around 2130.

Next plan was to head to some dancing but this was to be intersperced by a couple of drinks where we came upon the Bow Bar just across the street which I was just so impressed with. It was a bit of an auld man's pub feel to it but their malt selection was stunning and it had all these really cool old cigarette advert signs everywhere in the same way you get american street signs everywhere in those cruddy american bars. The Bow Bar was where we found Mike the Man with the Beard. I'd say met, but it was just a quick, "Huad oan, before we go, I need to get a photie of that man's beard!" type situation.

That kinda was where my night ended but it was a good laugh. I was aware that we as a group were probably pretty loud but it was fun for a once in a year sort of thing. Most laughs were provided on account of boss 2's rather odd cowboy style shoulder insignia on his shirt prompting clinking together of cutlery everytime he got up, to simulate his missing spurs. He seems to have a similar liking for hummin' shirts as me although on different edges of the scale.

Well I'm off to finish the housework off then enjoy the last drink of last night which was poured back into my birthday keychain hip flask on the walk back to the bus. My first taste of Ardbeg, a stunning dram if you get the chance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.