Emus

Today we drove to Lithgow, 25 km west, to collect our meat from the butcher. (A real one, not like the one I saw in Newtown yesterday whose sign said "Vegetarian Butcher"???)

It was one of our own steers. Twice he escaped when we trying to yard and load him but we got him this time :-)
Meanwhile he kept growing so we have LOTS of meat. Most of it will go to Sydney to help feed the children and grandkids.

We have spent the rest of the day cryo-packing it for the freezer so I haven't had much time to blip.

I did get this shot of the emus on the way down. You don't see wild ones here as you do out west but these live in a paddock at Hartley Vale and have been blipped before.
I don't know why they stay there. I can't imagine the fence would keep them in. They must be well fed, and maybe were brought up as pets.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.