memento

By memento

Path

Somewhat sad morning for me, taking the dogs back home after their breakfast and walk in the dewy field. Good day though and then there was the Olympic show on delay. Missed the stuff at the beginning but was planted firmly for the parade of athletes. Loved looking at the faces, so bright and hopeful, clearly emotional at being there with the competition still looming. And then there was Josateki Naulu, turning me into an instant Judo fan.

The giant contracting candelabra torch was just about the coolest thing ever and the fireworks were immense! The relevance of Hey Jude escapes me, however. Bowie singing Heroes live would have been better, instead of it just being played when the British athletes walked in. I thought the US team looked a bit like preppy, nautical flight attendants with military guerilla tendencies in their Ralph Lauren-designed, made-in-China berets and suits. Oops Ralph.

But all this doesn't matter, what matters is that they all get what they went to London for, a shiny medal and the glory. I'll be watching. Reminds me...wonder when the Judo starts?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.