Pictorial blethers

By blethers

The only thing ...

This photo represents the only thing I did all day. Oh, I fiddled about with some photographs on Flickr, listened to some music, dawdled around social media, felt sorry for myself with an untimely cold - but all I managed to accomplish was to write a sermon that I shall deliver, God willing, this Sunday.

So there are my specs - the slightly in-between ones that are right for a computer screen or a music stand but not so good for reading - the leather-covered notebook that I do my note-taking and scribbling in, the lectionary and the computer from which, when I'm sure I'm finished, I shall print said sermon off. (I don't trust my tablet sufficiently to take it into the pulpit with me, and I haven't reached the stage where I can extemporise the way I did in the classroom).

This sermon was at once obvious (the text is from Galatians 3, the Epistle on Sunday) and hard to express just as I want it. But preaching as a lay person is a huge privilege - and I enjoy it immensely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.