Fried Friday

Today has been all kinds of crazy and wonderful and emotional and brilliant. I think probably all of the above emotions are due to a severe lack of sleep. Severe lack of sleep was not down to a crazy sleepover but an inability to sleep while trying to process the news about Jo Cox and general pondering.

Katie set off on her bike this morning with the aim of reaching Derbyshire by evening. Having driven around those parts a few weeks ago, I packed her an extra sandwich for the hills. Then onto work where I tried to prepare for a brand new lunch club which is almost impossible to do when you don't have any idea who on earth is going to turn up, if anybody. No need to worry, the new lunch club was amazing! We expected about two kids, bought donuts for fifteen just in case, and then ran out half way through the session! Such an amazing group of kids and so encouraging to hear their ideas for the new club. Can't wait to hang out some more with them and see where it all leads.

Tired slump after that with the added dread of knowing I had to write my annual report this afternoon. Sometimes tiredness brings a clarity (and emotion) though, so I just hope what I wrote was OK.

Coffee date with dad to talk family and change and concerns and life which was nice even if it was in the devil mermaid chain. Nice cold brew though (not that kind of cold brew).

SS and I passed through the vigil being held in the park for the victims of the Orlando bombing. My friend was due to lead prayers and so we wanted to support her in that as well as stand with the LGBT community. Mostly a moving, yet solemn occasion apart from an inappropriate rant against all religion which was quickly shut down. I can understand how some people may want to blame religion for much of the hatred against the LGBT community but tonight wasn't the time or the place for more hate.

And my absolute highlight of the evening was seeing somebody I know mostly in a work context (I had an interview with him before this job and now we interact through the work of s-yfc). Anyway, I saw a totally different side of him this evening as he was out of a formal work context. He was in the park with his wife and dog after the vigil and was just on really good form. It was also really good to chat to his wife about a project she runs which makes use of surplus food and I'm excited to talk through some volunteering options with her.

All of the above took place in the midst of excitement with SS's new camera (which I stole to take my blip) and a general backdrop of sadness about the state of our world. My emotions can't really cope with today.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.