hoodedpigwoman

By hoodedpigwoman

Vigil For Jo Cox

I am deeply shocked by what happened yesterday, for lots of reasons. Jo Cox was one year older than me, with kids a similar age to mine. She worked in the same department at Oxfam, although I never met her as she left a few weeks before I started. She was a politician going about her constituency business, something I've lived with my whole life. And, as a lifelong Labour supporter, I'm distraught we have lost a person of her calibre.
Over the last few years I've become increasingly concerned about the disrespect people have for others who don't agree with them. I have felt frightened at times in Scotland in the last few years, but that's nothing compared to the horror I felt yesterday. If anything good can come out of this senseless murder, I hope it will be that some people will take a good look at themselves. I don't hold out much hope for this, but I will try to continue to respect others' views and attempt to persuade them to consider mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.