Advances in technology

The weekly theme is Technology, and we've certainly seen advances in the technologies that we use for communication.  I clearly remember the old rotary dial phone that was mounted on our  kitchen wall, with party lines so that other people could eavesdrop on conversations.  Now we have cell phones with incredible features that connect us to the internet, take photos, allow us to play games, communicate by text, on and on...and that seem to be used for actual voice calls less and less.  I got a cell phone (the smaller one on the left) a few years ago for emergencies, because when I was commuting by ferry to work, I got stuck on the road in snowy conditions and had to abandon the car a few times.  Ironically, the reception on this island isn't consistent and there was no service in any of the places I got stuck.  No way to contact G to let him know I was okay and walking home, whether I had a phone or not!  The network that serviced that phone will be discontinued soon and I got a cheap android replacement for the occasional time that I do need a cell.  So the old one really does belong in the Smithsonian now, as I've been told for a number of years.  We have no cell reception at our house and still have a landline for emergencies because we're hooped when the power goes out.  I don't know many other people who still have a landline. 
Does anyone still communicate with good old pen and paper or with postcards?   I love getting "real mail" but rarely do.  I send cards to friends and family, especially our granddaughters, just so they get "real mail" now and then.  We communicate with them by phone, iMessage and FaceTime - what a revolution that is, to actually see the person you're talking with even when they're many miles away!
And then there's the communication provided by television and the internet, and we're linked to almost everywhere in the world and know what's going on almost the instant anything happens.  I can hardly bear to watch the news these days and don't want to go on a rant here about how the politics in the US, the UK and other places are affecting me.  It's all so troubling, but I'm encouraged by the ability to connect with like-minded people through blip and know that I'm not alone in this crazy world. 
Advances in technology - some great, some questionable, but there's no turning back.
Edit:  this is much longer than my usual posts!  I didn't realize how much longer until I published it!  The reason I used an alphabet soup frame for this was my conviction that we need to be cognizant of the words that come out of our mouths and how they affect others.  Yesterday, I heard some clips from Donald Trump's speeches at rallies, with many of his words bleeped out.  What kind of example is that man setting with his choice of words (and I don't mean just swear words)?

Edit #2:  I decided to add a photo of Kalyn with her boyfriend just before his high school grad dinner.  I like the communication going on between them in this shot taken by Krista.  I really like it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.