hello : )

By 1DayataTime

outlook

I am almost two months into a new job and also temporarily living with a friend. Having recently left terrible work and living situations, the outlook is very good. It has been very stressful starting a new job and also packing/moving at the same time, but for the most part these changes have been all for the better.

In some ways these have been long overdue growing pains in which I have been speaking up and standing up for myself. For most of my life being liked was of utmost importance. However after being retaliated against by my former landlords after I spoke up for what was rightfully mine and also having had to deal with a nasty former boss, it has made me look very closely at how I move in this world. Being respected is finally becoming far more important to me than being liked. Trying to please forever more has left me repeatedly hurt and left in situations where I have been taken for granted and treated very poorly.

"If you always do what you've always done, you'll always get what you've always got." -Henry Ford

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.