People on a Bridge

By zerohour

Like mushrooms before the rain

Allen Hall and Simrall are about a third of a mile apart. Peanuts on a good day; can't even count it as a proper walk. Except today was not a good day, at least not when I was walking from one building to the other. I had no choice but to traverse the distance between the two in a violent thunderstorm. I have 10 minutes between classes, had a guest speaker in the first one, and was giving a test in the second one, therefore I couldn't cut the first one short nor be late to the other. And so as I jogged, counting the spacing between the thunder and lightning (one Mississippi, two Mississippi, three Mississippi), I got soaked head to toe. My students had a good laugh; I looked as if I walked into a shower stall, but forgot to take my clothes off.

And the mushrooms? Photographed first thing in the morning, when the sky was blue, temperature approached unbearable, and the rain was nowhere in sight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.