Matariki

Matariki is the Maori name for the cluster of stars also known as the Pieiades.  It rises in mid-winter.  For many Maori it heralds in the start of a new year.  It was celebrated in Wanaka with an afternoon's entertainment.  We watched singing, ukuleles, haka, hangi (food cooked on hot stones in the ground), lighting of bonfires, culminating with a grand show of fireworks.  Before dinner at the Dinosaur Park the local school performed a 'haka' (3rd extra).  The hangi was delicious (4th extra).  As the sun was setting I took a photo of the bonfires waiting to be lit.  (5th extra)  Then they lit the bonfires, and they were very bright and hot.  (6th extra)  My camera doesn't take good photos of fireworks, so they have all been deleted!!

The day started with a brilliant sunrise (1st extra), this view is from my home.  Today is the 'World Wide Knit-in Public Day', and these ladies were sitting outside a local cafe enticing others to join in too!  (2nd extra).

As I never venture into town after dark I had no idea that the council lit up this willow tree at the Dinosaur park.  It looked spectacular with the lights changing colour all the time. 

And to finish off this wonderful day it is my eldest granddaughters birthday.  Happy birthday Ali, I hope you have had a GREAT day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.