To A Wild Rose (Flew My Fledgling Chiff-Chaff)

It's Insect Week, I follow the Royal Entomological Society week on Twitter so have been looking for interesting bugs to post. It has been a great day for it. 

A second day of the Vintage and Classic Fly-In at North Weald took place today and I didn't want to miss the chance of shooting any interesting planes that might fly over here. I took both of my 7D cameras with me down the field for the first time, one with the macro lens and the other with the 400mm. I found it difficult to be in macro and distance mode simultaneously. Also with one over each shoulder it gave the effect of a cross-your-heart bra. :)

I was pleased I had the 400 at the ready though when I heard, "Weet, weet, weet." It was the parent chiff-chaff calling her brood. One of the fledglings sat in a dog rose bush and let me approach really close. The silly little bird kept pecking at the rose leaves. I have such a soft spot for my chiff-chaffs. <3    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.