The Poss

By PossMan

Grrr.... Frustration

A month or so ago I blipped our flood and we had quite a bit of rain during last night and today there have been some short-lived bright patches but mostly more rain. So seeing the drive starting to fill up I decided to clear the drain which goes from the side of the drive and under the lawn. We used to have a Karcher pressure cleaner bought about 15 years ago. Solidly built and very heavy. We also had a 15 metre "pipe cleaner" attachment - you can see the two ends in the picture. One end plugs into the end of the "gun"; the other has a nipple with two tiny backward facing holes. The idea is you stick it into the the pipe at the the low end and it pulls itself through the pipe. Very good and effective. But this year the old Karcher failed and I blithely went and bought a new one which was both very much lighter and also has wheels. I've used it as a normal pressure cleaner and it works very well. So today I wheeled it out and went to connect the pipe cleaner attachment. It doesn't connect! In the picture you can see the pipe connection that is meant to fit into the gun and also the new lance which does fit into the gun. But they're not quite the same. Karcher have made new pressure washers which are not compatible with old accessories. Even the old lances don't fit the new gun. And the pipe cleaner accessory is quite expensive so I'm not a very happy budgie.

PS UPDATE: I have since emailed Karcher as before ordering a new (expensive) hose I wanted to be absolutely sure that it wasn't some kind of fault with the new machine. I got a reply saying as my machine was pre-1998 new attchments would not fit and there was no way round this to make them compatible. Just in case anyone out there has equally antiquated equipement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.