WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Whispering grass

I can't deny that Earthdreamer gave me the idea of blipping grass :) This is obviously not in his league. But it was another opportunity to experiment with post-processing, which I enjoyed doing.

And while I was doing it, I found myself humming Whispering Grass. With the Olympic opening ceremony on my mind, it seemed like a good opportunity to celebrate the British sense of humour with this well-known rendition, which topped the charts in the UK in 1975.

What a glorious cacophony that opening ceremony was! It didn't all work, and probably baffled a lot of foreigners, but I loved the fact that it celebrated the little people in all their diversity. I am not a person who would normally watch an Olympic opening ceremony -- I only did because Danny Boyle had directed it. I wish I had caught more of the film references; I did catch a glimpse of one of my favourite films ever, Powell and Pressburger's A Matter of Life and Death. And I leapt to my feet and cheered when Sir Tim Berners-Lee appeared, live-tweeting from the scene. A modest man who is one of my modern heroes, and without whom Blipfoto wouldn't exist.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.