Busy Bees

I passed a fine example of Cotoneaster horizontalis on my way to the post. I might not have noticed but for the loud buzzing sounds from the many buff-tailed bumblebees feasting on the flowers; most were too busy for my camera but I did catch one for my blip.

Edit: After reading Pleach's comment I dashed upstairs to watch the solstice sunset and have included my view as an extra. Annoyingly, a cloud bank came over to obscure the horizon shortly before the final drop.
 We later witnessed the full moon, the first to coincide with the solstice since 1967, but the camera was not to hand.

Edit 2: Since reading emhowl's comment on Knottman2's bee blip I have added a photo taken at the same time as my main picture. From the chart I  understand that this Tree bumblebee (Bombus hypnorum) is uncommon in Scotland.




 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.