Hartford CT

An uneventful train ride landed my sister and I back in Hartford, CT this afternoon. While driving through the streets of Hartford I couldn't help but snap a few photos through the car window.

It's funny when you grow up someplace and see something all the time, then move away . . . Only to return later to see that same thing, still familiar and yet removed. That happened to me a number of times today! I have not been to CT for almost 5 years.

The building shown here is "The Hartford", as in the Hartford Insurance Group. If you look closely at the building you'll see, "Hartford Fire Insurance Company" carved in stone. I believe this was the original name. The company was founded in 1810! The city of Hartford has been known over the years as the insurance capital of the world :). My great grandfather, grandfather and father started, ran and grew their investment company, E.T. Andrews & Co., a Stock Brokerage firm in Hartford for many, many years. It's odd to go home when it is not really your home anymore, but I still enjoyed my visit very much. Tomorrow afternoon I have a plane ride to my "new" home in Florida. The term new is relative! We left Connecticut to move to Florida when my dad was ill with cancer 6 and 1/2 years ago, not knowing whether we'd stay . . . Well, we''re staying! We miss my dad, but we're near my mom and we fell in love with Florida. It's now my home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.