Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Camping 't Hout

Nienke at the caravan at Camping 't Hout, Bakkeveen, Frisia, The Netherlands.

Today we packed our stuff and drove to Bakkeveen, not even 45 minutes from home. Quite different from our previous two summer holidays in Italy and America. Last year, we visited relatives who went to the same camping as we are on now. At the end of that day, our girls asked us why we never go on such a cool holiday. Well, why not? If there is more fun to be had close to home, then why travel for 24 hours or more?

Still, Martine and I are not quite ready for the full camping experience: sleeping in a tent and sharing a toilet with fellow campers is just not our thing. Luckily, the camping also has huge caravans for rent so there we are... Three bedrooms, our own toilet and shower and cable TV: that's my idea of camping :-)

The camping has all sorts of entertainment for children, so I'm hoping the girls will enjoy that and maybe Martine and I will have some quiet time as well. We'll see. I took my camera bag and tripod with me, maybe I could even get out for some landscape photography...

Edit: I backblipped a fun portrait of Inge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.