THE UNFOLDING OF DAYS

By philipchircop

SIMPLICITY

Today I spent the afternoon with a good friend. My sister and her husband were my companions as we drove to Ghadira in search of a house by the sea! Once we found the place we were instantly "at home" and at peace.

This is the perfect place where one can practice doing nothing and doing it well. So we did just that: nothing! And then the nothing took the shape of enjoying a cup of mint tea, listening to music, indulging in the sweetness and earthiness of a fresh mango dripping down our arms, and a dip in the cool azure sea!

I once learnt that "simplicity means to let go of all that is unnecessary so that what is necessary may speak." This time, in this house, by this patch of Mediterranean sea with the perfect hostess taught me a radical lesson in the simple lifestyle!

The photo is one of the few I took, reflecting simplicity. In this case it is a beautiful blue pot created by Emmanuela and the few bamboo canes resting in it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.