Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Wonderful Wisley

Unbelievably I have reached 100 blips. Unlike many of you I have not managed to post every day, but I have enjoyed the challenge and if nothing else, have discovered places around my (and Mum's) locality which I didn't know exist. And thank you fellow blippers for your comments and encouragement on this journey.

I wanted to post something with 100, in it as well as keeping the alphabet challenge going. Well the former went by the wayside - I just couldn't resist this one of a yellow daisy (Inula) with lime green butterfly, as it summed up the whole day for me - bright and sunny, with the best of nature on show.

The 'W' was easy with RHS Wisley virtually on my doorstep and a member's card in my purse! My only concerns this morning were that being inside the Olympics Men's Cycling Road Race circuit, reaching the site might be a tricky, and that Wisley gets very very busy at weekends.

I decided to take the risk, and to my delight found that others were obviously more cautious - the roads were empty - as were the gardens. So no queues in the cafe or shop, and the staff and gardeners had time to chat. The flowers were maybe not at their best given the weather of the last few months, but gave an impressive display. There was even a young heron (called Herbert apparently) who was so intent on fishing for carp in one of the ponds he was obilvious to the people around him feeding the fish and ducks. I managed a slightly blurry shot of him having just caught one
(here).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.