sendfrancis

By sendfrancis

Ferociously Spicy Noodles?

Malaysia is a melting pot of cultures, also a pot where a variety of gastronomic sensibilities melt and meld. I can't imagine another place where something Indian and Chinese come together to taste so right that it's irresistible and kind of staple across the country. Called laksa in the south, it's creamy, kinda spicy, tangy from a splash of lime juice and compliments any choice of noodle type.

Ipoh is charming and quiet, green (I miss that) and ensconced in bottle-green hills (I miss that more). Sadly it's developed a reputation for being a retirement town (even as I was a child) and has suffered the fate of losing it's young blood and consequently job opportunities and economic vibrancy. The old parts of town housing the quaint colonial shoplots are falling into a state of disrepair and abandonment. I personally (perhaps biased) think the colonial shoplots here are quainter and more charming than other parts. I would love to see new life breathed into them in my lifetime. It would be a shame if they were torn down and replaced with featureless facades when the current (old) occupiers pass on.

I sent the car for servicing yesterday and had to use the Father's motorcycle for some cash.

Before leaving a short trip to a place called Kampung Kacang Putih (lit. White Nuts Village (actuall village)) for some snacks supplies. More on this some other time; feels I've used up my 'promote Ipoh' quota.

Played with a pair of puppies while unpacking the car in Kuala Lumpur. Drama: one falls into the drain through a hole just big enough for her and I find an outlet, crawl through cobwebs, hold my breath, get wet in stinky water, avoid rats, snakes and other horrors, skin my knees and bring her back out in the dark. Witnesses: the puppies. No "Hero Lecturer Saves Puppy" headlines in the papers tomorrow, I guess.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.