Thoughts of a Mummy

By Jaxndm

Really?!?!?!

So, I suppose I need to explain today's photo....

Aj was climbing a rail, (one that I have on many occasion told all of the girls not to climb as they will slip and hurt themselves), as we left gymnastics. I'm busy trying to offer a daughter off to another mother as my daughters seem to have no interest in listening to me or staying near the family, when I turn to see Aj crying and DM shouting "she slipped and banged her chin, Mummy she's bleeding". At which point I literally swoop her up in my arms and get her straight to the car which is parked right outside the unit at gymnastics.

Picture the scene.... A mother carrying two large bags, car keys and her 4 year old daughter (who has blood coming from her mouth, in her hands and as you'd expect is crying loudly), attempting to get into her car whilst also ensuring that her other three children are staying close by and not walking into the path of what is now a busy car park of families leaving gymnastics and the next session arriving. What could be any more stressful? I'll tell you what could be more stressful, having two six year old girls with their hands in crisp bags, screaming because their sister has blood coming from her mouth. Jeez baleeze give me strength!!

Bless DM was a dream, she stayed calm, helped to get anything I needed and was reassuring to Aj. R&P got it full throttle! There's me telling Aj it's all ok, we'll sort it and she has two of her sisters screaming and crying. We managed to stop the bleeding and two parents stopped to offer help, one passing wet wipes - Thank you ladies!

Aj had basically lost her footing as she was getting off the railing and banged her chin on the top railing. Her top tooth has gone through her bottom lip (through the top - out underneath).

DM held her hand all the way home and kept watching and talking to Aj to make sure she was ok.

We managed to get Aj straight into the doctors to get her swollen lip checked. After a phone call to A&E it was agreed that we let her lip try to heal naturally (as opposed to having it glued or stitches). She's already on antibiotics, so we just need to keep it clean and keep an eye on her.

Not quite how I had today penned out.

I did however have a fabulous 5 mile walk with Kylo this morning, followed by a great 2 hour catch up with a good friend and then family dinner and a gorgeous evening Kylo walk with Jiggy.

Aj has gone to bed with magic cream on her lip, so I'm hoping for a slightly less swollen lip from her in the morning. A girl can hope ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.