Coot Chick

A babysitting day today - so an early start on the road to Doncaster.

Jessica had been ill yesterday, so I was expecting a 'duvet day' vegging out in front of the TV - however she seemed to be quite cheerful and played nicely with her toys for a while.

Mid morning we went into town and we walked all around the big lake (near the football ground) and there were loads of ducks, geese and swans. We sat under a tree near the water's edge and a family of coots came to see us - the parents were diving to retrieve weed from the bottom and feeding the young and then this chick hopped on to the rocks in front of us. I just loved the size of the feet - like comedy shoes!

I was also on a mission to collect a birthday present for Jessica, she is two on Sunday. I collected that and then we came for a latish lunch.

Serious playing in the afternoon until mum got up - then I came home and had a quick walk with Finlay. I also discovered that we had a water leak under our kitchen sink - looks like the water filter system has broken. Fortunately it had mostly collected in the cleaning caddy and no serious damage occurred. Looks like a repair job for Friday as I am babysitting again on Thursday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.