Cailleach

By Cailleach

Three piece sweet.....

This morning, after voting, my friend took me to a new café he'd been wanting to try.

It was one of those incredibly trendy places, where everything, from the loo roll to the table tops, was not only organic, but had provenance!

We both chose a hot chocolate. They were outrageously expensive, lukewarm, and tasted faintly of cocoa that had been lying in a tin since 1975. But apparently, the beans had been 'handpicked by disadvantaged women' and the milk was from a three legged Fresian cow called Myrtle....(or was it a disadvantaged cow and a three legged woman called Freesia ?)

I foolishly thought that sugar might improve the taste - but when I requested some, you'd have thought I'd asked if I could force feed a deep fried Mars bar to a baby. The café owner was appalled!

Apparently sugar is banned. The only sweeteners allowed are; agave syrup, the blossom from a coconut palm or fermented bean paste.

No, I have no idea either.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.