On Referendum day, more decisions to be made

After a morning spent looking at my pictures taken in Sri Lanka trying to select some for an exhibition, I felt quite pleased with some of them. Helena has been at home all day which makes a nice change for both of us, and we were able to have a small snack lunch which I don't usually manage.

Then we drove to the polling station which I thought was surprisingly busy for the early afternoon. I think in our ward round here there will be a vote to remain, but I fear once you leave the urbanised area for the villages and hamlets there might be a rather different response.

I drove up to the farm shop near Bisley to get vegetables and a bit of country air and had a quick chat with Keith, who looks after the bee production at Stancombe Beech farm.  Last year I spent a day with him as he went to look after a few of his hives and he gave me a run down on their general condition. Apparently they are in good shape but need some  warm weather for the flowers, especially the clover, to ripen for their feeding.

I walked from the farm yard to look out over several fields hoping to see some birds and butterflies, but the overcast weather seemed to be keeping nature in a quiet state. My eye caught these signposts and I was intrigued by the possibilities, whether on foot, in a car or on horseback. It was nevertheless rather pleasant just standing still there and listening to the quiet sounds of the countryside, before coming home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.