Mark IV Tank--World War I

Today was laundry day in Lincoln (middle of our trip). Happily our laundrette (laundromat in the U.S.) was near the Museum of Lincolnshire Life--a superb community museum.  The county's industry specialized in agricultural machinery, much of it on display. Most notable for me was this tank, originally developed in 1915 by William Foster & Co. Ltd in Lincoln, which played a significant role in WW I--the first vehicle that .could cross trenches.  The team designing it met secretly in the White Hart* Hotel in the center of Lincoln--which I happen to have captured in the extra image. In the afternoon we had a very informative tour of Lincoln Cathedral (seem my previous two blips), led by a volunteer.

*Hart = a male deer, especially a red deer

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.