You Can Take the Girl Out of Europe....

........but you can't take Europe out of the girl.

I am an Irish citizen because both of my parents were born in the Republic of Ireland. When I was a little girl they would sometimes tell me I was Irish. I would get very cross and tell them I was English. My American cousins always say they are Irish American. We don't seem to have a similar definition.

So this morning I looked up the facts and even though I was not born in Ireland, I am already an Irish citizen. All I need to do if ever I want to prove my Irish citizenship is to apply for an Irish passport as evidence. I have a copy of my mother's birth certificate. Job done! I have blipped a detail.

It has just made me feel a little bit better but not much. We can only wait and see what plays out in this mess.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.