Life's Journey

By AndrewFyfe

Kirkwall Harbour

Dover - Shetland Day 37
Bettyhill - Kirkwall, Orkney (incl. Scrabster to Stromness ferry)

Distance cycled: today 76.8km, total 2,222.7km
Ascent: today 785km, total 15,552km

Highlight; cycling and ferry logistics all going to plan, enabling me to roll in to Kirkwall on Orkney's east coast around 430pm. Plenty of time to amuse myself in a sports bar on the harbour front, before catching the late evening ferry.

Lowlight: thick mist and smirrh making the entire 50km non-stop dash to Thurso, across the top of Scotland very wet and unpleasant, with some tortuous hills for the first half of the ride to throw into the mix. Weather significant cheered up in Orkney, although the damp was replaced by a keen headwind.

What else? Given I have finally left the UK mainland after 2,200km of cycling, I though I should share of couple of things about Orkney, for those who haven't been here (this is my first time and I hope to get back with Christine for a more leisurely exploration at some point). It is actually an archipelago of 70 islands, of which 20 are inhabited by ca. 21,000 people (although judging by the numbers of cars today, this must hugely increase in the tourism season). The peculiar thing (to me at least) is that largest island, containing 75% of the island's population, is called Mainland - so it seems that I haven't left it after all.

Photo: marine transport and fishing are hugely important to the islands. So it seemed apt to have a photo of part of its harbour for today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.