Going to be a trucker someday...

Interesting day. Woke up early with an easy 440 mile drive, so I put it in gear and away I went. When I got to our Seattle yard I expected the you can go home tomorrow morning if we can't find something for you routine but it wasn't meant to be..As i was doing the normal stuff when walking away for a few days, I got a message that a truck broke down and we need your help. 

Wreckers as the are called (very big tow trucks) are very expensive. They must be capable of towing well over 105,000 pounds let alone have the ability to pull a truck/trailer out of a ditch. So away I went to go rescue the load while a normal tow truck will tow the broke down truck back to the yard for repair. 

I was asked if I could deliver in southern California on Monday afternoon but my mom and a friend was going on a mini vacation and my dad needs 24/7 support so I said no but I could take it to our Olympia yard. Just one hour south of our main yard a driver can make our northern California yard, then to Wheeler Ridge where it would be handed off to a local to take it to the final destination.. The logistics boggles me sometimes..

This also meant a possible missed extra day at home and yet being thanked by the fourth highest person in the company for being a team player.. those simple words.. do mean a lot...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.