Jam Tomorrow!

Had a lovely evening on the allotment after a lazy day! I now have a bed of sweetcorn and the last 5 squashes in! Once they were slug pelleted and watered in I picked   some rhubarb and the strawberries and having given the girls the slug nibbled ones, I picked the  gooseberries growing on their plot! I've been watching them carefully as the wildbirds would scoff the lot as soon as they were ripe! 
Time had passed quickly and it was getting dusk so I phoned the coop member who should have been closing to say I would do it. I made myself a cup of sweet rhubarb tea and watched the girls go in. Betsey hobbled over  to check I hadn't brought more treats! Nutmeg seemed more her old self and I had seen her actually eat a strawberry and some mash so feeling a little more hopeful about her.
As I was picking another punnet of strawberries from my other overgrown plot the Midnight gardener drove in - even for her it was a late start! I wandered over and had a chat about how everything was really taking off on the plots - and we still have 2 months of summer to come! I left her digging up docks and took my goodies home. Tomorrow I think I shall make some jam! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.