TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

A Taste of the Islands in Happy Valley

“There's a friendly tie of some sort between music and eating.” 
~ Thomas Hardy, Under the Greenwood Tree

I tend to agree wholeheartedly with that quote, and so for today's Blip I believe we shall listen to a little Caribbean steel drum music while perusing this entry. (Click here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=76ZMD7Sx8uU )

I decided to treat myself to a little culinary delight today and took advantage of the fact that it is Happy Valley Culinary Week to make a lunch stop at one of the participating restaurants, The Corner Room (located at the corner of College and Allen Streets in State College).
My pick from the special lunch menu was this Jamaican Jerk Chicken Sandwich with accompanying seasoned carrot and parsnip fries. My appetizer of choice was the Bacon & Cheddar Tater Tumblers (sort of a fancied up tater tot) and, although it isn't pictured here, I selected a rather large, gorgeous piece of cherry pie for dessert.
Everything was delicious (I was especially impressed by the savory veggie fries) and the portions were so generous that I had enough in my take home box for another day of glorious nom-ing. 
All of it...appetizer, entree and dessert for a most reasonable price of $11, made me one Happy Valley Happy Camper. Can't wait to check out next year's menus!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.