Peat fire, Isle of Lewis

I have been so enjoying following the holidays of many of my blip friends. It seems it is the time for visiting the Outer Islands.
In 2005 I went with friends to Iona, Mull and the Orkneys and in 2012 with the same friends went to Lewis Harris and Skye. So enjoyed those places. Away back I descend from the McLeod's of Dunvegan Skye and the Callahan's of County Cork so you can see I am such a mixture with some English Cubitt's of Norfolk as well.
My Friends relations were in Lewis so what fun we had visiting her relations. One of her relatives there an Annie McSweeny was so interested in genealogy and keeping the Gaelic language alive. What a fantastic and interesting person she was. Going over on the ferry from Ullapool we were asked who we knew on Lewis and when Janice said Annie it seemed like everyone knew her.
 While there I just had to stoke a peat fire for the heck of it as we had been intrigued with the peat stacks. My blip is a photo of a photo
Today I was up with the sparrows as was on morning tea duty at church. Scones a must as one 94 year old parishioner likes my scones, date and plain. I always make sure I have spare for him to take home for his lunch.
The day has been so gloomy but am lucky as I have plenty of firewood and a good logburner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.