Plus ça change...

By SooB

Food-based society

Another day, another community feast.  Today was the school kermesse (end of year party thing with games for the kids), so I was up earlier than I really needed to be to bake some goodies.  The unspeakably awful EU stuff has kept my mind off planning, so I was a bit up against it.  I went for my quickest bakes (lime tray bake and a swiss roll) and both went down very well.  

First, aperos at the mairie, then down the road to what was some kind of nuns' refuge (I never quite figured out what it was) but is now a restaurant with rooms (I know what that is!) for paella - there were two huge pots like this, we all ended up with a boxful to bring home.  Also apricot tarts baked by our headteacher, then games (including an incredibly violent ballgame for everyone, and a tug of war that my team won), cakes and chat.  With the France match on this afternoon, someone dashed off for the necessary equipment to project the match via the internet onto a sheet hung up in a basement.  The PTA beer-sellers made good money...

So, on the other stuff, I had a handful of friends/acquaintances who asked to see my passport (they haven't quite got the hang of Britain not being in Shengen), but meant it as a joke, and there was lots of chat about Brexit, but on the whole everyone was really supportive and just wanted to know more than they hear on their news.  Mainly, whether it's true that some folk voted to leave and regret it.

The extra is a hoopoe in the restaurant parking lot who didn't seem to mind our presence.  He put his crest out every time he found a treat to eat - but I didn't catch any of those moments. 

This evening, a leisurely time - with no-one really needing any dinner.  There's more cheese to eat though...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.