Old Gig Tickets - Gil Scott Heron

Well, it was 30 years ago today that I saw the late, great GSH at Hammersmith Odeon. I've read a couple of reviews of his gigs that year which were sorrowful about his condition, but I have to say there must have been a contrasting pair of concerts because the one I saw he was sharp and on top form, with a smoking band, in good voice, and in good humour. I've got nothing but happy memories of this night, just wish Gil had managed to get clean and give us even more of his wonderful thoughts and sounds.

This was the year of the famous Cameo concert - they played the Odeon a few days after GSH. The NME reported on their gig and on their bemusement when they asked the audience to respond to "What's the word?" And got a resounding "Johannesburg" back instead of the expected "Up". That's how great GSH was, able to infect somebody else's gig a week later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.