Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Tortoiseshell

Second day back and I've already lost my blip.  Twice today! Why am I getting signed out without leaving the page? 

I visited Highgrove on Friday. No photo's to backblip as cameras and phones are barred from the premises. How I would have loved to have a record of such a wonderful place.  Truly stunning gardens, not marred in any way by the pouring rain, and nature put first and foremost.  My own ethics, but manicured to perfection whilst my space can only be described as a disaster area this year.  Work and weather have worked against me like never before!  A friend was moaning about her slugs and I had to say that I'm not suffering at all this year. The weeds block their path to the plants! 

I came home with many idea's which I will try to implement next year. Prince Charles's unpretentious  use of old stumps, recycled pallet wood and other things that you would never think would be found in his garden was inspirational.  The Prince has a passion for Delphiniums and they are found all around the rambling gardens.  I love them although, living in a wind tunnel, they aren't the most sensible plant to grow and I lack the 14 gardeners to neatly tie them all individually up stakes and are now mostly horizontall. 

The Nettles have run out of control this year . The garden and surrounding fields are covered in them, and the weather has rarely been dry for long enough to spray them off.  
It's boom year for the Tortoiseshell Butterflies who need the stingers as it's the only food plant for their caterpillars.  The butterflies are flocking to the Delphiniums to feed on their nectar and the sight is quite spectacular.  I didn't have far to go for my blip.  They are right outside my back door.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.