DevonDumpling

By DevonDumpling

'Unexpected Recital'

After our long day yesterday I needed flowers and countryside so we drove to Standen House National Trust. The gardens were looking lovely and the restoration of Lady Beales Rose garden is coming on beautifully. We dodged showers all day but had some good sunny spells. The cherry on the cake was this delightful man who was playing away..we could hear the music all around the gardens.
We chatted for ages, he then played us several pieces. Here he is playing a piece called 'Bayan Ko' ..apparently one of the most recognised patriotic songs of the Philippines and their unofficial second national anthem.
I was so fascinated by this pianists hands..we measured and his were smaller than my mine. Mine are small. He is a retired Doctor of Pathology Medicine? (I think) and gives talks around the country on the toxicity of plants , trees and fungi. Such an interesting man..he then played me a piece of music which depicted Nature and told me to listen for the whisper of the grasses and the bubbling stream (by then Pete had gone off to look around the house)...he reminded me so much of a great music and drama teacher I had at school. When I eventually said goodbye to him he said "I'll play you some Bach, you will hear it as you tour the house"
I told him he should be playing in the Festival Hall! Isn't it great when something unexpected happens . I also introduced a lovely couple to Blipfoto, avid travellers, they were instantly on their iPhones and checking it out.

Oh and I bought a new Dahlia...will Blip tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.