The Early Bird

.... get's to make a long day of it!

Up soon after 6am (that's 5am uk time) I snuck out for a few minutes in the meadows behind Hilary & David's place before beginning what has been an epic journey home.  The sun was not long over the hill and the flutterbys were still quite sleepy .... a good time to be out blipping!  This Marbled White allowed me to get up close and personal.

I'm hugely grateful to good friends Hilary and David for yet another super alpine visit - and I managed to bring the promised sunshine with me again!

The rest of the day quickly degenerated into farce.  Just 5 minutes after a goodbye hug at the station I got a text telling me my flight home was cancelled.  Alighting at Montreux (well if I was not going to get home today I might as well find out soon so I can turn back) I found a phone box to call BA (75p/minute on the mobile but just 10p a minute on Swisscom) who eventually booked me onto a flight to Heathrow.  The knock on of this delayed (oh yes it was) flight is that I am now stuck at Liverpool Street for two and a half hours until my Off Peak ticket is valid again.  A 13 hour journey where 7 hours have been spent sitting around waiting ... Grrr.  My first - and last - trip with BA.

PS HUGE thanks to all who helped put my celebration blip yesterday on the front popular page x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.