Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Fig

I used to think that fig trees thrived on dry ground because I have seen them growing profusely in some of the old ruined houses on the Greek island of Symi, which is very hot and dry during the summer. However, someone there told me that the roots are growing down into the old underground cisterns used for collecting rainwater during the winter so in fact, they are being generously watered. With that in mind I brought my fig bush out of the greenhouse a couple of weeks ago since when we have had a lot of rain and it is thriving, with lots of tiny new leaves and figs growing. I had thought of planting it out but have now read that it produces more fruit if the roots are restricted, so I will leave it in its pot. It also makes it easier to protect in the winter.

It will be interesting to see if any of the figs ripens well enough to be edible!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.