Happier Times

This photo was taken on July 18, 2008

A few week ago I got an email saying the 9 year old computer my mom uses stopped working.. One of my task when I got home was to replace it. Ten hours later this is the first blip from me on it. I never considered how much information the old computer had.. Including over 25 gigabytes of music recorded off of reel-to-reel, records, 8-tracks, cassettes, and cd's, over 40 gigabytes of photos jpeg quality or less, and various documents over time that just never was deleted.

Voice recordings of my great grandfather, grandpa, both grandmas, and others that are no longer with us. Photos for places we have been, good times, great times, and just everyday stuff...

Spending the last two days with my dad has got reflecting on times gone by. Today ten medications, a total of 24 pills spread out during the day, the remodeled bathroom for him, the repeating over and over... Playing cards very slowly, and....  

This photo was a trip to the furthest northern truck stop in America, Coldfoot Alaska, 250 miles north of Fairbanks on the Dalton Highway. A rented 4x4 and 250 miles EACH way of dirt road just to say my mom made it up there. About 10 years prior my dad and I drove to the Artic Ocean... A trip I will never forget...

Time to step away and go play another game of cards with dad.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.