It works!!

On a Blip-trip with Sands I used this camera to get a shot of the sand being blown across North Berwick beach. I knew immediately that I had got some sand in the camera. Since then it has been giving me intermittent trouble. Today the lens would not retract when I tried to switch it off and instead the camera made a noise like an angry bumble bee.

Now this camera came out of Tesco at a 'end of range, last one on the shelf, let's get rid of it' price. It has been up Munros, Corbetts, and glaciers. It has been in blizzards, rain storms, gales and heat-waves. It has been carried up rock-faces in a jacket pocket and been through x-ray machines in my luggage. I have not been kind to it. It is well out of warranty, and owes me nothing.

So on the basis that if I could not fix it myself it was not worth paying for a repair I took it to bits. I cleaned it carefully and removed a whole load of muck and dust and sand from the little cogs that work the lens. I then put it back together again. There is only one lost screw and I'm pretty sure the rest went back in the right place.

And it works....

Now that is both satisfying and says something for Samsung.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.