on a warm and dusty morning

If I have time, my preferred route in in the mornings involves hooking too far to the north-west up the NEPN, even though it involves the missing Roseburn end whilst the tramworks include the building of a tram-viaduct next to the train-viaduct over Russell Road. The over-the-road bit of the bridge has a sort of finished look to it but the constriction of the road to a single channel to give the contractors somewhere to park and throw rubbish and the truncation of the path to give them a shortcut from their parked cars and rubbish to the works to the east of the bridge will doubtless require the road to be constricted for a year or so more. I had time this morning to avoid the Haymarket fuckup by taking Russell Road then Henderson Terrace, Dundee Street, Viewforth and then heading down Bruntsfield, which reminded me sufficiently of the seventeen-mile loop I used to do in the evenings to prompt me to head back out round the whole thing in the evening, though I don't think I'll resume using it as a quick evening's hour's exercise as there seem to be many more midges hovering at eye-height on the path than there used to be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.