Pied Avocet (immature)

Horrendous weather today in Norfolk.  Our birding group headed mainly to Titchwell Marsh, a major refuge managed by the RSPB  (England's Audubon Society).  Rain and strong wind did not let up, and as a result I spent the afternoon in their small cafe at the refuge (struggling back from the blinds at noon against the wind was enough for me).  But I did get some good images: A young Pied Avocet (not related to our American Avocets)--a first for me, and a Spotted Redshank beginning to come out of its very black breeding plumage.  

BUT in a sense the most important bird we saw (though barely) was a Great Knot--normally found in Asia and seen only a few times in Britain.  It is close related to the Red Knot (just Knot in England), and it was huddled so close behind a large group of them that only part of its head and back was visible in our scopes (and much too distant to photograph).

Now to bed--I'm off to bed after finally solving my internet connections problems.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.