Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Love(lock) Is All You Need

Firstly, thanks for all the positive comments about my Referendum Blips - and for all the love generally. If only Blippers were in charge of the country/world!

What a week it's been, eh? I'm still shaken by what's happened and what's continuing to happen. I don't think I've had a single conversation in the last 7 days which hasn't involved an outpouring of emotion about the situation we find ourselves in and the 'least bad' ways in which to try to deal with it. My friends and colleagues from Switzerland (never an EU member of course), the Netherlands, Poland and Finland have expressed fears about their position in this country and their levels of personal safety, as have Muslim friends and Black and Asian friends. Just today I was told about a racist incident which a friend witnessed on a bus yesterday. She intervened but was anxious about doing so in case her accent gave her away as not having been born in this country. It breaks by heart.

OK. Moving on...

It's been a very busy and stressful time recently on various fronts but respite is in sight. Tomorrow, Spokes and I will be heading off for a 3 week holiday. It's been years since I took such a long break, and I can't quite believe it's really going to happen, but next time I post a blip I shall be a long way from Liverpool. Watch this space..!

Today, however, I've been in the office trying to tie up as many loose ends as possible and hoping that I haven't forgotten anything major.

I did take a break though to have lunch at my favourite new coffee shop/café, Lovelocks on Old Haymarket http://www.pikore.com/lovelockscoffeeshop It opened last month a mere minute's walk from my office and has swiftly become my 'local'. I've been arranging as many meetings in there as possible and have become positively addicted to their avocado on toast. They also make the best soya hot chocolate in town and have a great range of vegan and gluten free options on their menu, including the most amazing selection of cakes. And the staff team are lovely and welcoming too. Hurrah!

Here's owner/head honcho, Sarah Lovelock, showing off her tattoos - including one of the coffee shop's logo.

Today's song is for her, by way of thanks for posing for me. I know she likes it because we had a brief chat about it when I was in the café a few days ago and I was excited that it was playing... www.youtube.com/watch?v=r4ZrBxJHxo0 (There may also be a bit of a clue here about my holiday destination. No, I won't be spending 3 weeks in a swimming pool or reservoir, although I may well have a dip in the ocean!)

See you all soon!

PS As usual, I've been hopeless at thanking people for stars, hearts and follows but I never take your support for granted and I'm really grateful for it, I promise! X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.