80 today

Myrtle's usual support worker is on holiday so I was asked to visit.

Unbeknownst (a good word) to me, today is Myrtle's 80th birthday and she already had visitors, Graham and Mary. We got chatting and it turns out G&M have very good friends who happen to be my neighbours! Myrtle lives 15 miles away from me.

Myrtle opened a card from Margaret and Bob and then the phone rang. It was Margaret calling to tell her that Bob had just died! Cheerful birthday news!

In the afternoon, I picked up Alison. I decided to keep things local today. We went into town where I bought 2 pairs of sandals in the Clarks sale at bargain prices. I also bought jam sugar because I have a glut of Strawberries. And I bought a juicy piece of Tuna for tea.

We then went to St Peter Church on the Bath Road where there is a Floral Art exhibition. Right up my street (and Alison's). As Bath Road is my end of town and the exhibition was well attended, I knew many of the people there. One of Alison's old friends was there. She had heard about Alison's dementia and has now arranged to visit her. And one of my neighbours has invited us to tea which is lovely because I like to have activites for Alison to enjoy.

Alison's husband has sourced a Care Home.already. I bet he never guessed he would be facing old age alone. Very sad.
 



  

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.