Countdown continues

After today, I have three more Thursdays to go to school!  Today I finished sorting out the little room that has been my classroom for the last three years.  It's now looking rather bare.  The filing cabinet has been left with some past exam papers which may come in useful for someone in the future.  The locking metal cupboard has been left with some goodies which I hope might make life a little easier for my colleague who will take on the A level teaching next year.  Revision notes, Critical texts, dvds, felt pens, crayons, rulers, paper.  An empty display board.  Just my mug left.

As I walked out of the building today, I did wonder how I will feel when I do that for the last time at the end of term.  39 years gone just like that.  Feeling a bit melancholic tonight watching the vigil on the Somme and contemplating the times I have taught youngsters to understand and appreciate the literature of war and to consider the impact of war and the need for peace and unity.

So sad at where we are now, in this Europe.  I wasn't going to mention that again, but my heart weeps for our young people and I pray that somehow we manage to create a better future for them out of our shared past and the tattered present.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.