Imperial measures

After seeing something in the press this week about a butcher's shop wanting to go back to selling meat in lbs and oz, I got thinking about measurements. I am 5ft 2in , and xx stones, and under stand babies birth weight in lbs and oz, yet have to buy sugar by the kilogram, diesel by the litre , but measure the economy of my car in miles per gallon which is affected by the pounds per square inch of pressure in my tyres. I could do with a pint after all this thinking!
Saw this old original sign in Saltaire today, 90 cm and 100mm wouldn't look right here would it?
Mr H tells me the FP stands for fire plug, the fore runner of hydrants, learnt a lot about such things this evening!
My sister would have reached retirement age today, except retirement age is no longer 60 for women! Happy birthday any way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.