MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

the winds of change

Sometimes they blow the wrong way. But I don't think this is an analogy for my life just yet :) (or ever, really)

After doing all the things I could handle at home this morning (I love Maggy Smith, but once the wheaty-blueberry pancakes were gone and the violin was all played out, I had to abandon napping and Downton Abbey for more productive pursuits) I took a walk over to Frick Park. I took the opportunity out of the cell-signal blocking house to talk to my parents and grandparents, and when I finally arrived in the park proper, I took a seat under a large sycamore to watch people walking dogs and running children on the large, green lawn.

Got to writing and thinking (personal writing, not dissertation stuff) and I think this blog business needs more direction. I've gotten a bit lazy with the camera (thanks to the phone) but the phone isn't really building many skills. It's convenient and prevents me from losing all of my framing ability, but I'm not growing in the direction I'd like to with photos.. or blogging really. And it probably doesn't matter too much, except that I'm seeking some personal direction at the moment, my working life being pretty well settled for the foreseeable future. The camera would become a lot more appealing with the purchase of some new lenses, but I'm nervous about spending the money at the moment (besides it's good tennis weather and I should really replace my 10 year old $20-at-the-time racket.)

Anyway, point is, just like I considered buying a new violin or a new guitar, I want to make sure I'll really use the upgrades. I'm sure I will (in the case of any of it) but for photography, it will start with the repurposing of my blipblog and diversifying my personal photography assignments. I've got a few themes running through my head, but I think I will wait a day before deciding. Afterall, it's still a lazy Sunday and I've got dinner to make (my other fun hobby :) ).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.