Back in the 'hood

My blipping is sporadic to say the least at present. All the photographs are there, but I've not really had time (and not always the inclination) to be blipping. Travel has been ceaseless and when I've been here there seems to be too much to do.

Anyway, it was great today to be properly back in the 'hood - the place where, if you look at the details, 4 out of every 5 people you meet on the street voted to Remain (that is, apart from the large number of people with an interest in the vote who were disenfranchised, but that's another story entirely...). Anyway, apart from catching up on emails and correspondence, I was out and about a couple of times today seeing the PT and my hairdresser, and chatting with them was instructive. I suspect that in these difficult times, apart from a necessary turn-to-action which we see amongst political leaders in Scotland, many people will turn strongly to the local, to the community, to the places they feel comfortable. To that end, it was appropriate today to blip a #leithwalkshop. And one that somehow sums up that turn to localism and to using what we have already rather than simply hankering after the new for the sake of it - a brand new 'remakery' on Leith Walk.

I am still intensely bothered and upset about the referendum outcome, and have written more stuff that I shall share here. If you are not interested in, or somehow offended by, such stuff I suggest you unfollow me on here. Alternatively, if you want more, you can find me on twitter (@joshaw).

Meanwhile, have a look at this. His previous intervention before the referendum went viral with literally millions of views across several platforms. I'm proud to call him a friend.

And I can't help a hollow laugh when I think about the irresponsibility of our politicians - exactly one hundred years after the start of the Battle of the Somme.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.