Beeeze

By beeeze

Hollandaise and a catch-up

Hello hello - I started blipping again this week but because of silly things like work and travelling up and down the motorway network I haven't actually managed to update you on what I'm doing now (although I have back-blipped a few and will do a few more)

Some of you will perhaps remember that when I started blipping I was caring for my Ma who had vascular dementia and blipping was a sanity saving thing for me. After she died I carried on blipping and ramped up the fledgling home-baked cakes by post business and also set up a private supper club with a friend. Both of these are still extremely popular (thank goodness!). But my blipping was tailing off - some due to the busy busy but also some due to a feeling that I'd 'done three years' and had nothing to prove fatigue and quite a lot due to the changes to Blip and the feeling that the community I knew and loved had slipped away a bit.

However in December last year a friend was talking about finding someone to cook for them a few days a week because they are very very busy running their business. They have four children and obviously life is incredibly hectic. After a little bit of jokiness (literally around a day of back and forth emails) and we agreed that I would pop along in January and see how it went.

We are now in July and it is going very well indeed.

I spend midweek in the Midlands staying with the Cornishman (yep, he's still around) and drive to and from work then head back up to North Manchester for the weekends to see to my house, cats and daughter. And it works really well.

So essentially I am now Mrs Patmore.

There will be many food blips I fear, for which I apologise in advance but if that's your day, then that's your day. As it were. And to be honest, a photographic record of the things I make is quite useful - I go 'off piste' quite a lot and then can't remember what I've made when asked for that 'lovely lamb thing we had'. At least if there's photographic evidence I've half a chance of replicating it. Obviously the children aren't dieting so mealtimes and the photos are a bit schizophrenic with homemade pizza on one side and  low-carb on the other but it's working ok. I started Instagramming things and sharing the photos on Twitter and realised that neither of these really gives you what Blip gives you.

Fridays are generally a swift morning of snack making - Lord and Lady Grantham are low-carbing so need lots of tempting things in the fridge to stop them nose-diving into the chocolate drawer over the weekend. Today I left them several boxes of snacks and something to eat this evening - poached salmon, king prawns, courgette ribbons with lemon, tenderstem broccoli, asparagus and this Hollandaise. 

If you made it to the end of this then well done you. I hope to see you again in the future :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.