Day 1: Cornwall

I've had a brilliant day. A few glitches, but having done a few of these trips, and done my research, there was nothing to get too stressed about. My route today took me from Penzance to Plymouth. I did have an idea of going to Lands End, but decided against it, as the logistics were too complicated. Leg one was Penzance to Helston, via some of the lovely coastal villages, with fine views of St Michael's Mount. Unfortunately, because of a delay due to road works, I missed my tight connection, but had a pleasant wander around Helston and a coffee break. The later bus got me from Helston to Truro via some lovely country roads and villages. I had a stroke of luck in Truro - was expecting a 55 minute wait, but an earlier bus was delayed by a ticket machine malfunction, and I got straight off to Bodmin, my next destination. This was my favourite bit of the journey, as it took me through St Austell, which although it isn't a particularly attractive town, evoked memories of childhood holidays, when we visited family who lived there. Also, the bus went through an area of China clay workings, and upwards to an area via Bugle and Roche with some spectacular views. Not easy to do this justice through the bus window. The next changeover in Bodmin was a bit messy, but involved a short stopover at a Morrisons Supermarket, which allowed time for a cuppa and a a cream scone. The last leg, to Plymouth, was pleasant but unspectacular. After finding my accommodation, I had a wander around the harbour and a very nice meal. Devon tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.